References for “Gaze” August2014

These are some of the references I’ll have to work with for my next project dealing with Modthryth and the female presence as a figure of resistance inside the community in Beowulf. It will deal with the gaze although I’m not soo sure if it’ll be better for me to steer away from the Lacanian theory, as it seems Mulvey had a different perspective and it was influenced by Foucault (need to check again Foucault’s). So far these are some of the references I’ve found when working with the article: 

“Women Refusing the Gaze: Theorizing Thryth’s “Unqueenly Custom” in Beowulf and The Bride’s Revenge in Quentin Tarantino’s Kill Bill, Volume I” by Jessica Hope Jordan http://www.heroicage.org/issues/9/forum2.html

 

Leave a Reply

